DDCE Sambalpur University logo

Centre for distance and online education

Sambalpur University, Jyoti Vihar, Burla


R. K. Behera

Prof. Rajendra Kumar Behera


About CDOE

The Sambalpur University Act was passed by the Odisha Legislature on 10th December 1966 to fulfil a long-cherished dream of the people of Western Odisha for the establishment of a University. The University started functioning on 1st January 1967 with Prof. Parsuram Mishra as the first vice-chancellor. The University was inaugurated on 4th January 1967 by Hon’ble Chancellor A. N. Khosla. The University started functioning in 1967 in a rented private building at Dhanupali, Sambalpur and a Government building at Ainthapali, Sambalpur from 1968 - 72. In the year 1973, the University was shifted to the present campus named Jyoti Vihar at Burla.
The territorial jurisdiction of the University covers six districts of the state of Odisha namely Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Bargarh, Boudh and Athamallik Sub-Division of Angul District.... Read More

Notice Board

Load More